Why You Should Love Yourself Now

Image

A few years ago I really liked milk. It was my favorite thing to drink and I had several glasses of it a day. Unfortunately, along with the milk came acne, a teen’s best friend. I broke out once right between my eyebrows, leaving a scar. A small one, but one I noticed every day.

Each time I looked in the mirror I saw and it thought, I wonder if there’s any way to get rid of it? I always thought I would look better if the scar wasn’t there. If that were the case, I thought I would display my optimal outward appearance.

A few days ago I was making fried chicken for the first time. I was afraid I would burn myself, so I hesitated when putting the chicken in the pan. Because of my hesitation, I dropped the cutlet at the last second and hot oil splashed all over my chest, leaving a large red blotch. After a few hours the redness shrank down to only a small mark, but after researching online how to treat the burn, I found out that it could take up to a year to completely disappear.

At first I was upset and thought perfect, now I’m going to have a red mark on my chest for the next six months. Wow, that small scar on my face is nothing compared to this. I wish I could go back to just having that little scar. That would be so much better — but then it hit me. I’m never going to be completely satisfied with my physical appearance. I’m always going to pinpoint my imperfections and be unhappy, always thinking of something about myself that could be improved. Well I’m tired of living that way; thinking tomorrow might bring some hope of gaining what I’m lacking today…

…Which is why I’m going to accept who am I right now and embrace my physical appearance and embrace who I am today. I’m going to BE myself and be okay with it. I’m not going to fantasize about a better looking me or put myself down for not living up to the standards I hold for myself in my head.

However, say there was something about my physical appearance that really bothered me and was something I could work toward to change, such as weight loss or a more flattering hairstyle? I’m not saying that’s wrong. But I agree with my friend who once told me: “work for what you want and like what you are.” She was basically saying, it’s okay if you’re working toward change, but don’t get caught up in it. Love who you are each day, keeping in mind things could be a little different tomorrow.

You don’t know what tomorrow will bring. Today could be your last. Why not be happy and love yourself?

Leave a comment