Tips For Choosing Your College Major

Choosing a college major can be a daunting task, so here are some ways to make a more thoughtful, confident decision:

 

1.  Read Through Course Descriptions

Reading through the course descriptions of the classes you might be taking for the next four years is a great way to find out whether you find the subject matter of a major interesting. Most universities have a “course guide” posted online for each of their majors. Here is an example of a course guide that includes descriptions of all of the classes offered at a university:

Stony Brook University Undergraduate Course Descriptions

2.  Read Through Job Descriptions

Reading job descriptions is also a good way to find out whether your current major will lead you toward a career that you will actually like. Some students make assumptions about their major only to find out it’s not what they thought it was. Of course you can’t know everything about a prospective field, but skimming through job posts may help you find out more about what your future career might entail.

Job Search Websites:

3.  Ask Questions

Ask professionals your questions. They will be able to provide you with informative answers that will help you make a decision greater suited to your interests. These people include the head of the department of a specific major or program, your college advisor, school alumni, and professionals in the workforce.

Don’t be afraid to approach these experts. They are usually more than willing to meet with you and answer your questions if you send them a quick email.

Often schools have alumni day or seminars where professionals from different fields visit your school to talk about their work. Take advantage of these events.

If you go to a professional workplace and inquire about a company, the employees are often happy to answer any questions that you have. However, I would call them first to find out if there is a good time stop in. If they cannot meet with you in person, you can always ask them if they would send you information about their company through email.

4.  Try New Things

A great way to find out what you really like doing is by doing it! Find out if there are any internships, summer programs, or any opportunities in your area that you can take advantage of to gain experience in your potential field of study. You may love something or end up hating it, but you’ll never know until you try.

If you’re going to college in the fall, you may find that your college or university has a career center. This is a great resource for finding internship opportunities. Also, keep an eye out for job & internship fairs at your school. Even though these events are often geared toward upperclassmen, it doesn’t hurt to find out which companies are out there, or talk to representatives about what these companies do.

I wouldn’t recommend interning during your first semester because you will still be acclimating to college life. However, do get to know some professors or other faculty members on campus during the semester, because toward the end of it, you may be able to acquire an internship through them during the winter or summer break. Making connections is a great way to open doors to different opportunities.

Internship Search Websites:

5.  Seek Out the Advice of Someone Who Will Influence You

Seeking out the advice of others when making a big decision can be a big help. However, sometimes talking to others can leave you feeling just as lost as you were before. Therefore, I advise you to seek out the advice of a person who will influence you. Here’s why:

When I was trying to figure out whether to change to a major in sustainability studies or stick with mechanical engineering, I decided to ask the opinion of a professor I had worked with during a summer research program. Let’s call him Professor Adams. I expressed to Professor Adams the challenges I was facing regarding this decision I had to make, and he shared his opinion with me. After speaking with him, I knew that I wanted to continue majoring in mechanical engineering.

This is because he didn’t simply tell me to do what I wanted, he advised me to make a decision based on how it would affect my future. My parents and friends had been encouraging me to do what I love because I had explained to them that mechanical engineering may be too intensive for me and I wasn’t sure that I liked the courses. However, Professor Adams didn’t just encourage me to pursue what I have a passion for, he explained to me that if I earned my degree in mechanical engineering, I would be “more marketable” when I graduate if I’m considering a career that involves design. By saying this, he influenced my opinion by urging me to go in a certain direction because it would benefit me later on. So by receiving the advice of someone who really had the power to influence my me, I had greater ease making my decision.

To clarify, the kind of person I am referring to here is not someone who pressures you to do something for reasons pertaining to social status, respectability or solely compensation. I am referring to a person who in that regard, is unbiased and is simply advising you on your future.

6.  You Can Always Change Majors Later

You should know that the major you choose going into your freshman year isn’t the end-all decision of your academic career. Yes, it’s really scary if you pick something you may not want to do for the rest of your life. But honestly, a lot of students don’t figure out what they want to do until the end of their freshman year. I have a lot of friends that were undeclared going in and finally decided what to study at the end of their first year. They just needed some time to explore different fields by taking classes. Doing this helped them realize what topics really interested them and which ones seemed dry.

Even if you’re at the end of your first year and you’re still lost, it’s okay. Undergrad is only four years out of your entire life. If you switch your major a few times before sticking to one (which is very common), and you have to go to school for an extra semester or take some summer classes to catch up, it’s not the end of the world. You can do this.

7.  Don’t Let Fear Make Decisions For You

Sometimes the only thing holding us back from chasing our dreams is fear. Not too long ago, I succumbed to fear myself. I declared a major in mechanical engineering at the beginning of my freshman year in college and halfway through, I was afraid I had made the wrong decision. I began thinking that maybe I should major in electrical engineering (EE). So after speaking to many people and after a lot of thinking I decided I that I wanted to major in EE.

After six months I began to question this decision and felt that maybe engineering was the wrong path altogether. I was so burned out from a long semester of difficult courses and disappointing grades that I felt completely lost. I decided to mentally check out from all of the anxious decision-making thoughts that had been spiraling around in my mind, and just decided to do whatever over the summer from day-to-day.

One day I finally got up the courage to begin researching, once again, different college majors. I read job descriptions, met with the advisor of a new major I was considering (the environmental humanities), talked to friends, considered my true interests, and sought out the advice of a professional in the field. I finally realized that mechanical engineering was what I wanted to do. I had just doubted myself and had to wait six months to realize it.

I was afraid of a high anxiety, stressed out life for the next three years and I was also afraid of failure. My passion had never changed, my emotions just took a hold of me. I realized that anything worth doing in life isn’t going to be easy. That’s why not everyone is successful in their endeavors. Once I realized this, I decided that it’s worth the stress, pain and anxiety to realize my passion, and the least I can do is try.

8.  Narrow Down Your Choices

If you’re hopelessly indecisive like I am, or you are just trying to make the best decision possible, narrow down your choices to only three. I’m not saying don’t apply to many schools or don’t consider many college majors. I’m saying, once you’ve received those acceptance letters and done some research, you will make your life a lot easier by picking your top three selections from the pool and going from there.

If it helps, make a list of the pros and cons of each possibility. Once you know your top three choices, make a list of their pros and cons and do the things listed above once again to help you determine your top choice. Good luck! 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment