How to Actually Get Things Done

3021307-inline-fb-thumbsup-printpackaging

Ughhh, well I’m off my diet again. This is the third diet I’ve gone on in a year and I’ve pretty much gained back all the weight I lost and more. Cool.

Wow, I’ve been saying I’ll go to the gym for two years straight and haven’t set foot in one yet. I mostly say I’ll go because I know it’d be good for me, but not because I actually want to go.

I wish I went to bed earlier, but that’s never gonna happen. lol

Hmmm, I should cook more often. but it’s so much work and I’m always so tired.

Darn it, I haven’t done laundry in three weeks. That is a disgusting pile. Yikes. Hmmm, shoot! I’m actually out of shirts. Ugghhh. Let’s be real, that’s the only time I ever actually get any laundry done anyway.

Haha :DD  –> So you’re reading this and relating, yes?

I’ve reached a point in my life where I’m tired of being too tired to do things and I’m sick of falling short all the time and saying “oh I should do this and that… blah blah blah.” I want production, and I’ve finally realized what it takes to get it.

Obligation or Necessity

Necessity Example:

Rory doesn’t like doing laundry. Rory neglects her laundry. Three weeks later Rory has 5 lbs. of laundry she hasn’t done. Rory is unhappy.

Solution:

Rory takes all her clothes and puts them in plastic bins and stores them in an inconvenient place like the attic or on a high shelf in a closet. Rory only keeps 14 of her favorite shirts to last her for two weeks. Some casual ones, some formal ones, etc. Now Rory will do her laundry because if she doesn’t she will have no shirts left. Simple and easy.

Obligation Example:

John thinks he should go to the gym but doesn’t ever muster up the motivation to actually go. John knows it would make him healthier and happier and all the good things doctors talk about, but John feels pretty healthy not going and has more important things to do.

Solution:

John calls up an active friend who frequents the gym. John makes plans with said friend to go to the gym. Now John has an obligation to go because if he doesn’t, he will be bailing on his friend who HE set up plans with.

Sure, John could easily cancel on his friend, but no one likes to send that text. Usually people try to avoid it. Hopefully with John’s type of personality, he will avoid canceling and finally go to the gym.

Necessity Example:

Ruel always feel tired. He knows his problem is that he doesn’t sleep enough. It’s not even that he doesn’t have time to sleep, it’s just that he doesn’t. He stays up late watching Netflix or going on social media and then it’s 3:00 am again. Ruel would really like not feeling tired all the time, but he just never feels the compulsion to go to bed.

Solution:

Ruel reads online that bright screens inhibit the release of the hormone that makes you feel sleepy at night. Ruel discovers and downloads a program called Flux that changes the brightness of his computer screen throughout the day so that his body actually feels tired when it should. Now Ruel actually wants to go to bed when it would be in his best interest to. Ruel finally wins.

The Big Idea:

To summarize, if you really want something to happen, put yourself in a situation where your goal becomes an obligation or a necessity and then you will pretty much HAVE to accomplish it.

Sometimes accomplishing a goal requires clever research. Like in the sleep deprivation example, Ruel discovers that it’s more than just his own lack of self will power preventing him from falling asleep. There was a chemical mishap taking place in his body.

When considering solutions, you must think out of the box and be smart about it. The examples I’ve given aren’t the only solutions to these predicaments and may not work for everyone. But I’ve found them to be fairly effective in my own life.

I hope for both our sakes that it gets easier. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a comment